Blogs > Extra Points

Thoughts, news and notes from the sports staff of The Saratogian newspaper, located in historic Saratoga Springs, New York. The gang in the corner office on Lake Avenue give you the post-game wrap-ups, news and notes from the games we cover and opinions about the sports we read about every day.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Toga Sports Podcast Episode 4: Shen and Lance

Saratogian Sports staff Chris Maley and David M. Johnson discuss Shen's football quarterfinal, Shen's boys soccer semifinal, shell-shocked NFL QBs, college basketball and the amazing Lance Stephenson.

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Unnamed Saratogian Podcast Episode 3

Chris Maley and David M. Johnson talk about Shenendehowa football team's run to the state quarterfinals, Shenendehowa boys soccer, Saratoga Springs field hockey and Chris' beloved New York Jets.

The order of discussion is:
Shen football
Shen boys soccer
Saratoga Springs field hockey
Mark Sanchez

Still looking for podcast name suggestions!

Monday, October 20, 2014

Un-named Saratogian Sports podcast: Episode 1

With the excitement of high school football playoffs we decided to record the first episode of what we hope to be a weekly sports podcast covering local sports at The Saratogian. It doesn't have a name yet so we're accepting suggestions.

In Episode 1:

Chris Maley and David M. Johnson break down the Section II football first round playoffs matchups for Saratoga Springs, Shenenedehowa, Schuylerville, Burnt Hills, Mechanicville, Corinth and Greenwich. They also talk about Peyton Manning's right arm.

Questions, comments or thoughts on what we should talk about next week? Contact us on Twitter or shoot us an e-mail to

Thursday, October 2, 2014

Shenendehowa athletics reveals new logo

The Shenendehowa student body voted on its new logo, and the winner is:

It seems like the next logical step is to find a name for that intense-looking horse. Send suggestions to @SaratogaSports and we'll retweet the best ones.

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Shen slugger Yurchak named 3rd team All-American

Shen grad Justin Yurchak
The awards just keep accumulating for Shenendehowa shortstop Justin Yurchak. After being placed on the first team Suburban Council and named Saratogian Player of the Year, the senior slugger was voted an  American Baseball Coaches Association third team All-American. 
He was the only player from New York named to any of the first three teams and was also recognized to the ‘Region 1’ team for the second straight year. 
Yurchak  led the Shenendehowa baseball program to Section 2 Class ‘AA’ Championships in 2013 and 2014.  The left-handed hitter finished with a .526 average and a .654 on-base percentage. Yuchak tallied 10 doubles, three home runs, drove in 26 runs and scored 34.
Yurchak has committed to play Division I baseball at Wake Forest next spring. 
Here's a list of the 2014 Saratogian Baseball All-Stars.

Friday, May 16, 2014

Jockey stands up early at Pimlico, gets nailed at the line

For the first 3,920 feet of the race, jockey Stacie Clark-Rogers
worked to guide Graced to the lead heading down the stretch of the Lady
Legends Race at Pimlico.

Everything changed in the final 40 feet of the six-furlong race on a sloppy track.

stood up to celebrate what she though was a 1 1/2 length victory when
Zuerstgold, with Andrea Jean Seefeldt aboard, completed a stretch run
rally to win by a nose. Here's the video.

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Suburban Council Baseball Standings: Saratoga Springs one win from sectional berth

Saratoga Springs 3B Eric Beer
Saratoga Springs' boys baseball team is one win away from clinching its first Section II Class AA playoff berth since 2011 after picking up a 7-6 win over Columbia and an 11-6 victory over Niskayuna this week. The Blue Streaks need one win in their final four league games — starting with Friday's 4:15 contest vs. Shaker at Eastside Rec — to get the job done. Shenendehowa, Columbia and Niskayuna have already clinched playoff berths in Class AA while Burnt Hills' 8-4 record has the Spartans into the Class A sectional field. Saratoga Springs, Shaker and Guilderland are one win away from the postseason while Ballston Spa and Colonie must win all four of their remaining games to qualify.