Blogs > Extra Points

Thoughts, news and notes from the sports staff of The Saratogian newspaper, located in historic Saratoga Springs, New York. The gang in the corner office on Lake Avenue give you the post-game wrap-ups, news and notes from the games we cover and opinions about the sports we read about every day.

Friday, April 17, 2015

Saratoga-area players named to NYSPHSAA

The New York State Sportswriters Association released the 2014-15 boys basketball All-State players for Classes B, C and D.

Here are the Section II selections:
Class B
Fourth Team: Zac O'Dell, Schalmont, junior 18.6 ppg.
Seventh Team: Andrew Hoag, Hoosick Falls, senior 12.6 ppg.
Eighth Team: Ty'Jon Gilmore, Watervliet, junior 19.3 ppg.
Tenth Team: Shelton Alston, Cohoes, senior 16.8 ppg.
Eleventh Team: Ryan Dingman, Broadalbin-Perth, senior 16.2
Twelveth Team: David Warnken, Ravena, senior 19.8
Thirteenth Team: Dante Langley, Schuylerville, senior 18.8
Honorable Mentions
Sean Daly, Ichabod Crane, junior
Keenan Loder, Cobleskill-Richmondville, junior
Connor McCart, Hoosick Falls, junior
Kolby Phillips, Cairo-Durham, junior
** Mitch Wayand, a Stillwater junior was placed as an honorable mention in Class B despite the Warriors competing as a Class C school for the 2014-15 school year.

Class C
Player of the Year: Joel Wincowski, Lake George, senior 33.0 ppg.
First Team: John Rooney, Hoosick Valley, s
enior 28.4 ppg.
Third Team: Justin Carruthers, Greenwich, senior 14.0 ppg.
Fifth Team: Josh Orton, Waterford-Halfmoon, senior 21.0 ppg.
Honorable Mentions
Evan Pescetti, Saratoga Catholic, junior
Jesse DeMarsh, Hadley-Luzerne, senior
Greg Depaolis, Berlin, senior
Dylan Klock, Oppenheim-Ephrata-St. Johnsville, junior

The Class AA and Class A teams are expected to be released next week.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home